Mushroom Pizza

Community Book Room

Whew what a day! I am feeling so exhausted I can barely keep my eyes open – it’s going to be an early night! I don’t even know if I’ll make it through Nurse Jackie… one of my favorite shows right now, so that says something!

One of the reasons I’m so tired is because I stayed up too late last night because I’ve was reading this book. There is a community book room in my apartment complex and it is such an awesome thing to have. Basically, its a room on the lobby level full of books. You can go in there any time you’re looking for a new read and take it with you. I always put a lot of good books in there when I’m done reading, and sometimes find some really great books I never would have discovered otherwise. The book I’m currently reading was in there and it says on the front, “Highly recommended for fans of authors like Jodi Picoult and Jacequelyn Michard.” It had me right there – Jodi Picoult is one of my favorite authors. I’ve read almost all of her novels and loved each one. This book is a little sad but its the kind you read where you cannot put it down. I’ve been reading it on the metro to/from work and I’ve definitely missed my stop more than once! 🙂

My afternoon snack today was a Pineapple Chobani with the last of the Fiber One in my desk.

I had it around 4pm and it held me over really well. I never would have tried the 2% yogurt had Chobani not sent me the samples, and I’m so glad I did. It has the same number of WW Points as the nonfat kinds (3 pts) but keeps me full for a lot longer.

After work, I took the 6pm Bikram tonight. It was hard! It’s day 3 in a row for me and since it was so humid outside, the class itself was really hot and sweaty, even more than normal. Not to mention, 6pm is the time of choice for a lot of people who go after work, so it was packed. People were practically on top of each other, and when you’re that sweaty, the last thing you want is someone else who’s equally sweaty touching you! I can definitely tell that I’m getting better at the postures and really enjoy it, but tomorrow I’m going to take the day off from it.

When I got home, I was starving and I opened my fridge and saw the leftover pizza from Saturday night. I heated it up for 45 seconds and devoured it.

Two sliced of wild mushroom pizza with 4 types of cheese… yum! It was delish. After my pizza, I was craving some fruit, so I had three mandarins.

And then as I sat down to write this I realized I wanted something else, so I had a huge banana.

I had to take a bite before I could snap a pic. 😉

I’m off to relax and hopefully get to bed early tonight.

Be back tomorrow!

Cookie and Candy Plate

I’m so sad that Saturday is over! Though I wasn’t feeling that fabulous for most of the day, it was nice to take it easy and enjoy the 90 degree day. I found a new place in my neighborhood for a mani/pedi and they did an awesome job. I was in there for 2.5 hours because the woman took such care. Towards the end I was definitely getting a little antsy to get out of there, but it was awesome. She gave me a really long leg and foot massage and a great hand/arm massage too. I ate a lot of snacks after the GM, starting with another Kind Bar.

This was the Fruit and Nut kind and was even better than the last one. It had a bunch of different kinds of nuts and dried fruit so every bite was a little different and it was soo good.

I also had a bagel thin toasted with ricotta (no cream cheese or butter in sight).

And then I had a small mug of cereal with one crushed Weetabix biscuit and the rest of the pumpkin flax granola from Whole Foods, with some almond milk.

Looking back, I probably should have had one thing a bit more substantial, but I was feeling pretty icky so I just went with what I felt like…

Then I got myself together and met my boyfriend at Chef Geoff Tysons tonight when he got off of work to get a bite at the bar. I decided to have a glass of Torrontes (JUST ONE)

It was good, but I didn’t even finish the glass. I got the mixed green salad with blue cheese crumbles and berry vinaigrette to start (dressing on the side).

Then I ordered the wild mushroom pizza that had fontina, taleggio, and grana padana (all types of cheese).

This pizza was soooo good. They have a special pizza oven in the restaurant to make all the pizzas, so the crusts get crispy and the toppings all melty. So, so good. I ate 2/3 of this pizza (4 small pieces) and brought the last two pieces home.

I was pretty full at this point, but we decided to get a dessert to share anyways, so I just nibbled on it. It was the Cookies and Candy plate, which is all handmade at the restaurant.

Clockwise from top left, caramel corn, chocolate dipped toffee, dolce de leche, cinnamon sugar cookie, an anise marshmallow, and chocolate covered almonds. I tried a bit of everything and it was incredible. Handmade candy is like nothing else! I laughed a little because its called “cookies and candy” but it came out with only one cookie. Turns out the kitchen ran out of cookies so they just gave us one, but I found it pretty funny because I have a strange sense of humor… 🙂

Off to bed… I am going to sleep well tonight!